top of page

Carl Nelson District 1 Scholarship

This is a $2500 scholarship in honor of Carl Nelson, ATC. Carl worked at Colby College from 1959- 93, serving students as an athletic trainer, associate professor and director of health services throughout his career. Nelson cared for Olympians in 1972, 1976 and 1980 winter games. He was inducted into the NATA Hall of Fame in 1986. 

Criteria: To be eligible for consideration an applicant shall meet each of the following qualifications:


  1. The applicant must be a student member of the MATA and NATA District one for at least one year.

  2. The applicant must distinguish her/himself academically with an overall cumulative grade point average of 3.0 based on a maximum 4.0 system or its equivalent.

  3. An unofficial copy of the student transcript must be emailed to:  Please include the student's name in the Subject Line.

  4. Applicant should email a current resume or curriculum vitae to  Please include the applicant's name in the Subject Line.

  5. The applicant must have completed a minimum of two years of committed service as an athletic training student at her/his institution.

  6. The applicant must signify her/his intention to continue academic work to a baccalaureate degree as a full­ time, undergraduate student and have been judged capable of this by her/his Athletic Training (AT) Program Director.

  7. The applicant must show a willingness to learn, be dedicated to the athletic training profession, maintain a strong work ethic, and display a good sense of humor.

  8. The applicant must conduct her/himself in a manner that brings credit to her/himself, to her/his institution, and to intercollegiate athletics.

  9. The applicant must have a National Provider Identifier (NPI).  This can be obtained HERE.

Nominating Instructions

  • Each AT Program Director may submit no more than one nomination.

  • Two sections must be completed:

The ATS Scholarship Application (LINK)

The ATE Program Director Evaluation Form (LINK)

  • A transcript must be emailed to once you have completed the Student Application. Please put the Student's Name in the Subject Line


Paul Culina

2024 Carl Nelson D1 Scholarship Recipient


Aly Hendrick
University of Southern Maine

Past Recipients


Chad Bartlett, University of Southern Maine


Tyler Gardiner

University of Southern Maine


Stephanie Devine

University of New England



Sergio Acuna

University of Southern Maine


Braden Heal

University of Southern Maine


Nathan Oakes

University of New England




Nate Colepitts

University of Southern Maine


Megan DeRaps

University of New England


Tara Moore

University of Southern Maine


Cody Closson

University of Maine, Presque Isle


John Bonney

University of Southern Maine


Olga Ndoci

University of New England


Casey Davis

University of Maine 


Frances Allen

University of Maine, Presque Isle 


Michael Thompson

University of Southern Maine 


Victoria Coolidge

University of New England


Richard Sirois

University of New England


Ben Warstler

University of Maine, Presque Isle


Suzanne Grant

University of Maine



Mike Gay

University of Maine

bottom of page